Food Standards Australia New Zealand Logo
Food Standards Australia New Zealand Logo

Consumer and Public Health Dialogue

​​The FSANZ Consumer and Public Health Dialogue (CPHD) provides a means by which FSANZ can engage in deeper and more meaningful consultation with peak consumer and public health bodies and academics. The objective is to improve FSANZ’s awareness and understanding of community food and health issues; and public priorities, and through this communication, provide a more effective food regulatory response.


The CPHD consists of the following Members and Observers:

Dr Sandra Cuthbert – FSANZ interim CEO (Chair)

Ms Elizabeth World – Dietitians Australia

Mrs Belinda Castles  – Consumer New Zealand 

Professor John Coveney – Flinders University

Mr Ian Jarratt – Consumers' Federation of Australia

Dr Rosemary Stanton – Public Health Association of Australia

Professor Linda Tapsell – University of Wollongong

Dr Lisa Te Morenga Ngāti Whatua, Te Rārawa, Ngā Puhi – Maori Representative, Victoria University

Ms Nicole Turner – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Representative, Indigenous Allied Health Australia

Ms Wendy Watson – Australian Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance

Ms Alexandra Jones  The George Institute for Global Health


Dr Eva Bennet – Chair, Implementation Subcommittee for Food Regulation

Dr Mary-Ann Carter – Ministry of Health, New Zealand

Ms Karen Lau – Ministry for Primary Industries, New Zealand

Ms Gillian Duffy – Commonwealth Department of Health​

Completed work

CPHD Discussion Paper 1: Definition of Public Health (PDF 369KB)

CPHD Discussion Paper 2: Informed Decisions about Food Purchasing (PDF 185KB)

CPHD Discussion Paper 3: Regulatory Challenges (PDF 285KB)​


Return to top