Safe Food Australia - A guide to the Food Safety Standards

Safe Food Australia

Safe Food Australia is a guide to the four mandatory food safety standards:

  • Standard 3.1.1 Interpretation and Application
  • Standard 3.2.2 Food Safety Practices and General Requirements
  • Standard 3.2.2A Food Safety Management Tools
  • Standard 3.2.3 Food Premises and Equipment.

The guide is for government agencies who are responsible for enforcing the standards. Food businesses may also find it offers helpful information about the standards and food safety issues.

Fourth Edition, February 2023

Download the complete Safe Food Australia guidebook (PDF 12 mb), print friendly with opposing pages, or individual chapters:

New content in this edition

Standard 3.2.2A is a new food safety standard for food service, caterer and related retail businesses, which became enforceable from 8 December 2023. It contains requirements for food handler training, a food safety supervisor, and evidence that specific food handling activities are being adequately managed. Businesses need to implement either two or three of these tools depending on their food handling activities.

InfoBites factsheets for food businesses

We've also developed some short factsheets to help you understand the food safety standards, by topic. See our InfoBites.