Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Food safety for food businesses

On this page

Food safety standards

There are six food safety standards in the Food Standards Code legislation:

​These standards aim to lower the incidence of foodborne illness. They place obligations on Australian food businesses to produce food that is safe and suitable to eat, and also place health and hygiene obligations on food handlers.

For more information see the Food Safety Standards page and our guidebook Safe Food Australia.

InfoBites factsheets

This series of factsheets developed from Safe Food Australia have key information on the food safety standards and practical tips to reduce food safety risks:

Food safety management tools under Standard 3.2.2A

Other resources for food service:

Department of Health Victoria has an animation on tools businesses can use to demonstrate how they manage food safety: see A recipe for food safety - Step 2 - Food Safety Management


Mo​st mobile devices and web browsers have built-in tools or extensions to assist with translati​ng information into your language. You can also use freely available translation tools, such as Google Translate, to translate ​web pages and PDFs.

Page last updated 1 July 2024